Reps. Taylor Greene And Boebert Vote Against Bone Marrow Program

Republican Representatives Marjorie Taylor Greene and Lauren Boebert were the only two lawmakers in the House to vote against the TRANSPLANT Act on Thursday night.

The bill passed in the House in a 415-2 vote. It reauthorizes the National Marrow Donor Program which facilitates bone marrow and umbilical cord blood donations and transplants for people with leukemia or other blood diseases.

“The bill added hundreds of millions of dollars to the national debt, while not receiving a CBO score or going through the committee process,” Boebert said in a statement to CNN.

“Nothing in this bill prevents the funding of aborted fetal tissue by taxpayers,” Taylor Greene said.

The bipartisan measure was sponsored by Reps. Doris Matsui (D-Calif.), Gus Bilirakis (R-Fla.) and Chellie Pingree (D-Maine).

Matsui released a statement Thursday praising the bill’s passage and calling on the Senate to act.

“Every three minutes, someone is diagnosed with a blood cancer,” she said. “For patients and families facing these fatal diseases, a bone marrow or cord blood transplant may be the best treatment or only potential for a cure.


About RavenH

Raven Haywood is a journalist for 10+ years. Graduate from Howard University.

Check Also

Matt Gaetz

House Ethics Panel Adds Allegations To Matt Gaetz Investigation

Ariana Figueroa, Source New Mexico The U.S. House Ethics Committee released a statement Tuesday saying …

Leave a Reply