House Approves Select Committee To Probe Jan 6 Insurrection

The U.S. House voted Wednesday to establish a select committee to investigate the Jan. 6 insurrection, in which a mob of pro-Trump supporters attacked the U.S. Capitol.

The 222-190 vote was almost entirely party-line with just two Republicans joining Democrats in passing the resolution, which calls for a probe into “one of the darkest days of our democracy.” The two were Reps. Liz Cheney of Wyoming and Adam Kinzinger of Illinois. Nineteen Republicans did not vote.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, in a statement, slammed House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy for voting against the select committee and for urging his members to do the same.

“Minority Leader McCarthy dodged, disrespected and denied Officer Michael Fanone most of the reasonable asks the hero officer made of him,” she said.

Fanone was one of the District of Columbia Metropolitan Police officers who responded to the attack on the Capitol. In a meeting with the minority leader, Fanone asked McCarthy to take the select committee seriously, according to The Associated Press.

“Opposing the creation of the select committee breaks the promise [McCarthy] made to January 6th heroes and their families,” Pelosi said.

McCarthy told Roll Call he had no regrets in opposing the panel and added the FBI should be the agency conducting investigations into the attack.

“Nancy Pelosi has spent all the time and all these months playing politics with this, and now we’re finding [the] select committee will be more politics of what she wants to do,” he said.

Senate Democrats tried last month to advance to a vote on a bipartisan, independent commission to investigate the insurrection, but Senate Republicans blocked the measure on a 54-35 vote, six short of the required 60-vote threshold.

The FBI and Justice Department have already brought more than 500 charges against those individuals involved in the violent attack that left five dead and dozens of law enforcement officials injured.

The panel voted on by the House Wednesday will be modeled after the commission established after the 9/11 attacks and will be made up of 13 members, eight selected by Pelosi and five by McCarthy. The committee will also have subpoena power.

About J. Williams

Check Also

House Speaker Mike Johnson

House Panel Debates Voting By Noncitizens, Which Is Already Illegal

by Ariana Figueroa, Nebraska Examiner Republicans on the U.S. House Administration Committee argued at a …

Leave a Reply